Universitetet i Tromsø - Startsida Universitetet i Tromsø - Startsida
Department of Chemistry

Invoice address
UiT The Arctic University of Norway
Postboks 6050 Langnes
NO-9037 Tromsø

Organisation number
970 422 528

Theoretical Chemistry group

The current research is focused both on the development of new computational methods as well as the application of these methods to relevant chemical problems.

Current activities focus on:

  1. the development of computational methodology to calculate new molecular properties, in particular involving geometric or magnetic perturbations. Current focus has been on non-relativistic methods, but extensions to a relativistic framework are planned. Care is taken so that the methodologies developed can be applied to large molecules;
  2. the study of medium effects on different molecular properties with an emphasis on nonlinear optical properties. The group is particularly concerned with liquids-but extensions to more complex environments such as interfaces have been initiated-through continuum models and QM/MM methods;
  3. the development of new computational methodology for determining wave functions and densities using wavelets;
  4. highly accurate studies of molecular properties using high-level coupled-cluster methods;
  5. the application and development of computational methods to study biological catalysis and ligand-receptor interactions.

In late 2006 the group has been awarded the coordination of the Center for Theoretical and Computational Chemistry (CTCC), a Center of Excellence, where also the inorganic- and materials chemistry group, as well as researchers from the Physics and the Mathematics Departments and the Chemistry Department of the University of Oslo participates. The CTCC has started its activities in July 2007 and it is now fully operational. Master and PhD students are involved in the activities of the centre.

There are three faculty members in the group:

 Kenneth Ruud  Luca Frediani Bjørn Olav Brandsdal 


Kenneth Ruud

Associate professor

Luca Frediani

 Associate professor

Bjørn O. Brandsdal



Ansvarlig for siden: Arne O. Smalås
Sist endret: 14.11.2012

Del på Facebook
Faculty of Biosciences, Fisheries and Economics
Faculty of Humanities, Social Sciences and Education
Faculty of Science and Technology
Faculty of Health Sciences
Faculty of Law
Faculty of Fine Arts

Units under the University board:
The Barents Institute
Centre for Women's and Gender Research
Centre for Sami Studies
Tromsø University Museum
The University Library of Tromsø
The University’s Centre for Flexible Education U-VETT
Tavla (Norwegian)
Newsletter (Norwegian)
RSS-feeds (Norwegian)

For students
For employees
For guests
Prospective students:
Study catalogue
Practical matters

Academic life
Student organisations
Student life in Tromsø
Student welfare
New students
Career Center

People search
Content search
Universitetet i Tromsø - University of Tromsø - Romssa universitehta. N-9019 Tromsø - Tlf.: +47 77 64 40 00 - E-mail: postmottak@uit.no