Department of Health and Care Sciences

The Department has around 1,200 students and 140 full-time equivalents, and provides a wide range of health studies for basic and continuing education and for Master's degrees. The Department aims to provide education and carry out professional developmental work and research within its field. The three-year basic study programmes provide students with a Bachelor's degree which in turn qualifies them for admission to further education and a Master's study programme.

The Department management comprises the Head of Department, two Deputy Heads of Department, the Head of Office and eight senior positions within the individual study programmes (four Bachelor study programmes, seven further educational programmes and two Master's study programmes).

The Department's administration comprises personnel who work with examinations, personnel, finance, study-related issues, internationalisation and internships for students.

The Department's information desk on level seven of the medicine and health science building provides a front line service for students, employees, visitors and others. Click here for a link to the Information Desk.

The Centre for Care Research is affiliated with the Department of Health and Care Sciences.

The Department has the following Heads of Studies: 

 Title  Name
Head of Studies for Ergotherapy  Rita Jentoft
Head of Studies for Physiotherapy  Iris Borch
Head of Studies for Radiography  Anne June Iversen
Head of Studies for Nursing in Hammerfest  Jeanette Huemer
Head of Studies for Nursing in Tromsø  Marta Grongstad
Head of Studies for Midwifery  Kari Bjerck

Head of Studies for Further Education in anaesthetics, children, intensive, cancer and theatre care, clinical care and the national study programme for paramedics

 Else Berg Hansen
Head of Studies for the Master's programme in health sciences, with interdisciplinary programme option,
clinical neurological programme option, psychiatry and psychosomatic programme option, health visitor study programme, mental health and health services for the
aged, Master's degree programme in nursing
 Inger Marie Holm

Members of the Department Board for the Department of Health and Care Sciences from 27 February 2014 to 31 July 2017

Chairperson of the Board: Gyrd Thrane

Permanent scientific members: Nils Henriksen, Bodil Hansen Blix, Gudrun Nilsen

Deputy board members for the scientific members: Cathrine Arntzen, Kirsti Inkeri Kuosa, Anne Gretland

Technical/administrative members: Arne Eek

Deputy members: Eirin Wilhelmsen

External members: Ragnhild Hellesø - Uio, Ole Petter Rekvig - Uit 

Student representatives: Kim-Remi Sandvær, Øyvind Benjaminsen

Deputy members for the student representatives: Fartun Hussein, Even Edvardsen

Secretary to the Department Board: Anders Aarbø