Steering Committee and Scientific Committee

The decision on who will be awarded the Mohn Prize is taken by a steering committee with three representatives from UiT The Arctic University of Norway, two representatives from Academia Borealis, The Academy of Science and Letters of Northern Norway, and one representative from Tromsø Research Foundation.

The steering committee makes its decision based on a recommendation from a scientific committee appointed by the steering committee. The scientific committee has five members - all of them leading researchers in their respective field. The committee as a collective should represent a broad range of fields in Arctic research. In addition to evaluating candidates nominated by others, the scientific committee is free to nominate additional candidates. If needed, the scientific committee can consult with external experts when evaluating nominated candidates.

Steering Committee

The steering committee has the following members:

Appointed by the board of Academia Borealis, The Academy of Science and Lettersof Northern Norway

  • Professor Synnøve des Bouvrie
  • Professor Jens Ivar Nergård

Appointed by the board of Tromsø Research Foundation

  • Sveinung Hole

Appointed by the board of UiT The Arctic University of Norway

  • Rector Anne Husebekk (steering committee chair)
  • Professor Morten Hald
  • Professor Hans-Kristian Hernes

Scientific Committee

The Scientific Committee has the following members: 

  • Professor Gail Fondahl (Geography)
    University of Northern British Columbia
  • Dr. Igor Krupnik (Anthropology) 
    Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History
  • Professor Jody W. Deming (Oceanography) 
    University of Washington 
  • Professor Martin Jakobsson (Marine geology and Geophysic)
    Stockholm University 
  • Professor Nils Chr. Stenseth (Biology)
    University of Oslo