The 11th Polar Law Symposium 2018 (Tromsø)

The Faculty of Law, the KG Jebsen Centre for the Law of the Sea (JCLOS), and the research group for Sami Law at UiT The Arctic University of Norway, are pleased to announce that they will together organize and host the 11th annual Polar Law Symposium in Tromsø, Norway, October 2 - 4, 2018.


The Symposium has been held every year since its launch in Akureyri, Iceland in September 2008. The Symposium brings together established scholars and post-doctoral and doctoral researchers from all across the world to share research in the fields of polar law and policy. In addition, leading experts are invited to give keynote lectures.


UiT The Arctic University of Norway, Tromsø, Norway

October 2 - 4, 2018

The Faculty of Law, the K.G. Jebsen Centre for the Law of the Sea (JCLOS), and the research group for Sami Law at UiT The Arctic University of Norway.

Read the news post about the Polar Law Symposium 2018.



You may find the updated program on the right hand side. 

The Faculty of Law is celebrating the 10th anniversary of the LL.M. Programme in Law of the Sea. The celebration will include one panel during the Polar Law Symposium (on October 3rd) where LLM- alumni will be giving presentations on topics related to the Arctic. Celebrations will also include a cocktail reception following the alumni presentations.

Conference fees

Conference fee for speakers: NOK 1000 (app. 100 Euro)

Conferece fee for non-speakers: NOK 1 850 (app.185  Euro)

The conference fee will cover the conference dinner, 3 lunches and the LLM reception 3 October

The conference fee must be paid by 17 September 2018, to:


Sparebank1 Nord-Norge, PoBox 6800, N-9298 Tromsø, Norway


IBAN: NO59 4714 10 01236

The payment must be marked: 470032 Polar Law Symposium

Account holder: UiT The Arctic University of Norway


Please register by 17 September 2018, by following the green registration button.


Conference hotel

We have an agreement with the Clarion Hotel The Edge to provide rooms at a special rate for conference guests.

Please contact the hotel before 10 August 2018:


Reference code: PM 17131 UIT



Organizing Committee

Øyvind Ravna, Nigel Bankes, Margherita Poto and Christin Skjervold

Advisory Committee

Timo Koivurova, Gudmundur Alfredsson, Rachael Lorna Johnstone, Ágúst Þór Árnason 

Scientific Committee and Special Editors for the Yearbook of Polar Law, volume 15

Tore Henriksen, Øyvind Ravna, Nigel Bankes, Margherita Poto and Erik Molenaar 


Inquiries with respect to abstracts and articles should be directed to Nigel Bankes at or at Inquiries with respect to administrative matters should be directed to Christin Skjervold at


Starts: 02.10.18 at 09.00
Ends: 04.10.18 at 13.00
Where: Tromsø
Location / Campus: Tromsø
Target group: All
Responsible: Christin Skjervold

Deadline: 17.09.2018
Deadline has been reached. Sorry
Add to calendar
Attachments / Pictures:
Call for abstracts_171117
Practical information_PLS
Program PLS_01102018_final