About us – Department of Computer Science

About us – Department of Computer Science

The Department of Computer Science at UiT provides a strong international research environment with 18 tenured faculty positions , 8 technical and administrative staff members, and around 30 post doctors, researchers and PhD students.

The mission of the Department is to advance research and teaching of computer science as a discipline. We will contribute as an enabling discipline to UiT’s strategic application areas including health, biology, energy, climate and environment.

Department of Computer Science is located in the Science building (Realfagbygget.


Telephone: +47 776 44056

E-mail: administrasjon.ifi@nt.uit.no

Postal address:

Institutt for Informatikk

Fakultet for Naturvitenskap og Teknologi

UiT Norges Arktiske Universitet

Postboks 6050 Langnes

N-9037  TROMSØ


Visiting address:

Institutt for Informatikk


Hansine Hansens vei 54