Arctic Frontiers 2020: List of Experts

24.01.20 Inger Lise Næss

For the media: UiT The Arctic University of Norway offers a comprehensive list of experts at Arctic Frontiers 2020 – covering several disciplines and fields of expertise. 

Scientists working on the sea ice. Large research vessel in the background.
Scientists working on the sea ice during a Nansen Legacy research cruise. Foto: Christian Morel / The Nansen Legacy

The theme of this year's conference is "The Power of Knowledge", and you may find all details about Arctic Frontiers 2020 here. UiT scientists participate in several events and various parts of the programme

As a service to the media, we have gathered a list of UiT connected to the four thematic lines of Arctic Frontiers 2020: 

1) Smart Arctic

Sub topics: Resilient societies, innovation, technology transfer, smart infrastructure, connectivity.

2) Blue Future

Sub topics: Healthy and productive oceans, sustainable ocean economy, balanced approach to use and protection of marine resource.

3) Sustainable Business Development

Sub topics: Resources, competence, technology, green competitiveness, energy, transportation, resources, business trends and knowledge based growth in the Arctic.

4) Science to Policy

Sub topics: Knowledge based policy development, the role of science in the development of the Arctic region, balanced growth discourse, science diplomacy, global trends on science-policy interaction.

In addition to these four main topics, we have listed experts in health related topics: 

5) Physical activity and health in the Arctic

Click on the titles to go directly to the expert list of interest.  

1) Smart Arctic

ARC – Arctic Centre for Sustainable Energy

Matteo Chiesa, Professor / Group leader Renewable Energy, Department of Physics and Technology
Research: Wind energy, energy system technology, energy storage
Office: +47 77 64 51 90
matteo.chiesa@uit.no

Berit Kristoffersen, Associate Professor, Department of Social Sciences
Research: Renewable energy, resource and tourism practices 
Mobile: +47 957 02 600
berit.kristoffersen@uit.no

2) Blue Future

Arctic Productivity and Climate Effects / The Nansen Legacy

Jørgen Berge, Professor, Department of Arctic and Marine Biology
Research: Arctic marine ecology, seasonal studies with emphasis on polar night, effects of climate change on Arctic marine ecosystems, sea ice ecology, new introduced species, life history adaptations and ecology of Arctic organisms.
Mobile: +47 901 69 125
jorgen.berge@uit.no

Marit Reigstad, Professor in marine ecology, Department of Arctic and Marine Biology / Nansen Legacy Project Leader
Research: Arctic marine system ecology, seasonal ice zone and processes taking place under the sea ice, effects of climate change on Arctic marine ecosystems and productivity, coupling between pelagic and benthic systems, challenges for society with opening of new areas caused by climate change.
Office: +47 77 64 45 25
Mobile: +47 901 10 092
marit.reigstad@uit.no

Paul Wassmann, Professor, Department of Arctic and Marine Biology
Research: Arctic marine system ecology, flux of carbon in marine ecosystems as a function of trophic state and climate change, physical-biological coupled 3-D models of pelagic primary production.
Office: +47 77 64 44 59
Mobile: +47 977 73 451
paul.wassmann@uit.no

Bodil Bluhm, Professor, Department of Arctic and Marine Biology
Research: Arctic marine system ecology, biodiversity, food webs, benthic-pelagic coupling.
bodil.bluhm@uit.no 

Hans Christian Eilertsen, Professor in Oceanography and Phytoplankton, Department of Arctic and Marine Biology
Research: Bioprospecting all types marine arctic organisms, physiology/biochemistry of Arctic phytoplankton, and irradiance (atmosphere vs. sea) in Arctic environments.
Office: +47 77 64 45 40
Mobile: +47 975 22 793
hans.c.eilertsen@uit.no

Nigel Yoccoz, Professor, Department of Arctic and Marine Biology
Research: Arctic productivity and climate, Arctic monitoring, ecological predictions, biodiversity, ecosystem shifts.
Office: +47 77 64 68 84
nigel.yoccoz@uit.no

Remote sensing, oil spill, safety in the Arctic

Camilla Brekke, Professor, Department of Physics and Technology
Research: Earth surveillance, Remote sensing of sea ice and oil spill.
Office: +47 77 64 62 97
Mobile: +47 915 88 660
camilla.brekke@uit.no

Anthony Doulgeris, Associate Professor, Department of Physics and Technology
Research: Remote sensing of sea-ice, satellite image analysis.
Office: +47 77 64 51 77
Mobile: +47 959 25 313
anthony.p.doulgeris@uit.no

Torbjørn Eltoft, Professor, Department of Physics and Technology
Research: Remote sensing of sea ice, chairs the SFI: CIRFA – Centre for Integrated Remote Sensing and Forecasting for Arctic Operations
Office: +47 77 64 51 84
Mobile: +47 950 07 345
torbjorn.eltoft@uit.no

Are Kristoffer Sydnes, Professor, Department of Technology and Safety
Research: Arctic safety, emergency response, oil spill response, search and rescue.
Office: +47 77 66 03 28
Mobile: +47 975 329 74
are.sydnes@uit.no

Abbas Barabadi, Professor, Department of Technology and Safety
Research: Arctic technology, risk assessment.
Mobile: +47 462 71 205
abbas.b.abadi@uit.no

Christer Pursiainen, Professor, Department of Technology and Safety
Research: Arctic security, crisis management, resilience, critical infrastructure, decision-making.
Office: +47 77 66 03 87
christer.h.pursiainen@uit.no

Centre for Arctic Gas Hydrate; Environment and Climate (CAGE) 

Karin Andreassen, Professor, Director CAGE 
Research: Massive craters on the ocean floor in the Arctic caused by abrupt methane release. How past glaciations influence present day changes in the environment. 
Office: +47 77 64 44 20
Mobile: +47 469 29 027
karin.andreassen@uit.no 

Monica Winsborrow, Researcher and Assistant Director CAGE.
Research: Evolution of Arctic ice sheets, climate change and gas hydrates.
Mobile: +47 995 59 531
monica.winsborrow@uit.no

Alun L. Hubbard, professor CAGE
Research: Ice sheets, glaciers, Greenland, Arctic amplification, meltwater runoff and global sea-level rise.
Office: +47 77 62 32 53
alun.l.hubbard@uit.no

Stefan Buenz, Professor CAGE
Research: Arctic gas hydrate reservoirs.
mobile: +47 922 08 887
stefan.buenz@uit.no

Mohamed Ezat, Researcher CAGE
Research: Carbon cycle, CO2 uptake in the Arctic and Atlantic Oceans. Ocean acidification and methane release. 
mohamed.ezat@uit.no

Anna Silyakov, Researcher CAGE.
Research: Arctic oceanography and sea ice.
Mobile: +47 456 80 228
anna.silyakova@uit.no

Maja Sojtaric, Senior Communication Advisor CAGE.
Topic: Arctic Gas Hydrates, Environment and Climate.
maja.sojtaric@uit.no

3) Sustainable Business Development

Lene Foss, Professor, School of Business and Economics
Research: Entrepreneurship and innovation
Mobile: +47 48 00 02 91
lene.foss@uit.no

Eva J.B. Jørgensen, Associate Professor, School of Business and Economics
Research: International entrepreneurship, SME internationalization, knowledge, capabilities, relationships and networks
Mobile: +47 41 68 26 40
eva.joergensen@uit.no 

Nina Prebensen, Professor, School of Business and Economics
Research: Service Innovation and Tourist Experiences in the High North: The Co-creation of Value for Consumers, Firms and the Tourism Industry
Office: +47 77 64 67 66
nina.prebensen@uit.no

4) Science to Policy

International Relations

Marc Lanteigne, Associate Professor, Political Science
Research: Chinese foreign policy including in the Polar Regions, Asia-Arctic Diplomacy (Japan, South Korea, Singapore), international relations and security studies. See blog: Over the Circle 
Office: +47 77 64 43 06
marc.lanteigne@uit.no

Sami studies, minority rights, indigenous law

Else Grethe Broderstad, Professor in indigenous studies, Centre for Sami Studies
Research: The relationship between indigenous rights and citizenship rights. Political procedures in the relationship between minorities and majorities, consultations.
Office: +47 77 64 69 08
else.g.broderstad@uit.no

Nicholas Tyler, Associate Professor, Centre for Sami Studies
Research: Reindeer ecology, reindeer husbandry, reindeer and their ecophysiological adaptation to Arctic environment, reindeer and conflicts with infrastructure development.
Office: +47 77 64 47 88
Mobile: +47 905 77 298
nicholas.tyler@uit.no

Rossella Ragazzi, Associate Professor, the Arctic University Museum of Norway
Research: Indigenous people's museum and media representation in Norway.
Mobile: +47 909 25 278
rossella.ragazzi@uit.no

Øyvind Stokke, Associate Professor, Department of Philosophy
Research: Environmental philosophy. Environmental, ethical and business related aspects of optimising industrially relevant technologies for chemical and biological CO2 capture and usage (CCU). Globalizing minority rights.
Office: +47 77 64 63 34
oyvind.stokke@uit.no 

Svein Anders Noer Lie, Associate Professor at the Department of Philosophy
Research: The extensive field of environmental philosophy – and with a special interest in – the relationship between nature, human and technology.
Office: +47 77 64 56 91
svein.a.lie@uit.no 

Mattias Åhrén, Professor, the Faculty of Law
Research: International Law, Indigenous Rights Law, and Sami Law.
Office: +47 77 64 69 15
Mobile: +47 473 79 161
jon.m.ahren@uit.no

Øyvind Ravna, Professor, the Faculty of Law
Research: Indigenous people’s law, human rights law, property law, land consolidation, legal history.
Office: +47 77 64 65 10
Mobile: +47 971 86 706
oyvind.ravna@uit.no

Endalew Lijalem Enyew, Researcher, Norwegian Centre for the Law of the Sea
Research: The Law of the Sea, International Human Rights Law, Indigenous Peoples' Law, Peace and Conflict Studies, Restorative Justice, and Ethiopian company and competition law.
Office: +47 77 62 52 04
Mobile: +47 465 54 469
endalew.l.enyew@uit.no  

Law of the sea 

Tore Henriksen, Professor, Norwegian Centre for the Law of the Sea
Research: Sea, fisheries, Arctic shipping.
Office: +47 77 64 52 37
tore.henriksen@uit.no

Vito De Lucia, Associate Professor, Norwegian Centre for the Law of the Sea
Research: International Law and Law of the Sea (in relation to Environment, Biodiversity, Arctic Governance, Areas beyond National Jurisdiction).
Office: +47 77 62 08 63
vito.delucia@uit.no

Margherita Poto, Postdoc, Norwegian Centre for the Law of the Sea
Research: Governance and regulation in sensitive areas in the Arctic, indigenous and nature rights, Arctic Council.
Office: +47 77 62 31 45
margherita.p.poto@uit.no

Kristine Dalaker Kraabel, PhD fellow, Norwegian Centre for the Law of the Sea
Research: Law of the Sea, marine biodiversity, ocean governance.
Office: +47 77 64 57 66
kristine.d.kraabel@uit.no  

The future of governance and handling vulnerability in Arctic ecosystems

Rasmus Gjedssø Bertelsen, Professor, Department of Social Sciences, Barents Chair in Politics
Research: Arctic Governance, War and Peace Dynamics.
Mobile: +47 913 18 623
rasmus.bertelsen@uit.no

Mariia Kobzeva, Postdoc, Department of Social Sciences
Research: Chinese and Russian Arctic affairs and relations.
Office: +47 77 64 46 31
mariia.kobzeva@uit.no

Gunnar Sander, Researcher, the Norwegian College of Fishery Science
Research: Ocean and coastal planning, ecosystem-based ocean management, Arctic marine governance, impact assessments and negotiations on a UN treaty on biodiversity beyond national jurisdiction.
Office: +47 77 64 43 32
Mobile: +47 952 18 786
gunnar.sander@uit.no

Hans Peter Blankholm, Professor, Department of Archaeology, History, Religious Studies and Theology
Research: Leads the Joint Proxies research group on human and natural adaptation to changing climates and environments in the High North (encompasses the Arctic and Subarctic parts of Scandinavia, Greenland, USA, Canada and Russia). A Joint Proxy is an archaeological site with good preservation conditions that contains proxy data of relevance for archaeological, geological, botanical, zoological and climate change research and interpretation. 
Office: +47 77 64 43 65
Mobile: +47 932 32 081
hans.peter.blankholm@uit.no

5) Physical activity and health in the Arctic

Bente Norbye, Professor in health care education, Department of Health and Care Sciences
Research: Health education for the north in the north. Distributed and decentralized nursing education in the north, recruitment and retention improvement in the Arctic. Interprofessional education for all health professionals to enable better collaboration and provide improved patient treatment and care.
Office: +47 77 62 51 54
Mobile: +47 951 22 383
bente.norbye@uit.no

Herbert Gottfried Zoglowek, Professor, School of sport sciences
Research: Leads the research group Outdoor life and nature-based tourism
Office: +47 78 45 02 55
herbert.zoglowek@uit.no

Laila Hopstock, Researcher, Department of Community Medicine
Research: Cardiovascular disease research in the High North. Norway and Russia are neighbouring countries with large differences in health. We study cardiovascular disease (and beyond) in the High North by comparisons between the population-based Tromsø Study in Norway and the Know Your Heart study in Arkhangelsk and Novosibirsk in Russia. This research collaboration called Heart to Heart will contribute to the explanation of the poorly understood epidemic of premature mortality from cardiovascular disease in Russia, and to the development of more effective interventions and treatments in the future. The comparable data offers extensive opportunities for further research collaborations.
Office: +47 77 62 07 18
Mobile: +47 900 10 811
laila.hopstock@uit.no

Bente Morseth, Researcher, School of sport sciences
Research: Physical activity and public health, The Tromsø Study
Office: +47 77 66 07 69
Mobile: +47 402 39 585
bente.morseth@uit.no 

Occupational Health in the North

This research group addresses topics concerning work life, both in general and with special focus on working conditions in the north. Study topics include work in the cold, preventive strategies for sickness absence, exposure of nano-particles, asthma and allergy in the seafood industry, and others. 
Anje Höper, Researcher, Department of Community Medicine
Mobile: +47 980 22 451
anje.hoeper@uit.no

Pollutants

Jon Øyvind Odland, Professor, Department of Community Medicine
Research: Pollutants in the Arctic. The population in Arctic areas may have hazardous levels of pollutants in their body, and that these are associated with disrupted brain development, a compromised immune system, effects on fertility and increased risk of cancer. Odland has especially studied infants exposed to pollutants through breast milk.
Office: +47 77 64 64 07
jon.oyvind.odland@uit.no 

Torkjel Sandanger, Professor, Department of Community Medicine
Research: Systems epidemiology, health effects of different environmental factors.
Office: +47 77 64 54 04
torkjel.sandanger@uit.no

Charlotta Rylander, Associate Professor, Department of Community Medicine
Research: Obesity, weight change and cancer risk. Measurements of organic pollutants, body weight, lipids and hormons in relation to risk of type 2 diabetes mellitus.
Mobile: +47 41 64 34 04
charlotta.rylander@uit.no

Therese H. Nøst, Researcher, Department of Community Medicine
Research: Molecular and environmental epidemiology.
therese.h.nost@uit.no

På Twitter   #norgesarktiske