Members

Group Leader: Annamari Vitikainen

Vice-leader: Kim Angell

 

Annamari Vitikainen

Professor

annamari.vitikainen@uit.no

Multiculturalism; Migration; Minority rights; Sexuality and gender

 

Kim Angell

 Associate Professor

kim.angell@uit.no 

Theory of Democracy; Global Justice and Territorial Rights

 

Joanna Kreft

Research Assistant

joanna.a.kreft@uit.no

 


Jan Harald Alnes

Associate Professor

jan.harald.alnes@uit.no

Pluralism and stability; Rule of law; Constitutionalism

 

Anna-Karin Margareta Andersson

Post-doctoral research fellow

anna-karin.m.andersson@uit.no

Global justice; Climate justice and sustainable development goals; Capabilities approach; Human Rights

 

Roar Anfinsen

Associate Professor

roar.anfinsen@uit.no

Tolerance

 

Melina Duarte

Post-doctoral Researcher

melina.duarte@uit.no

Immigration and borders; Human rights and state sovereignty; minority rights and equality

 

Magnus Skytterholm Egan

PhD Student

magnus.egan@uit.no

Migration; Global justice

 

Kjersti Fjørtoft
Professor
kjersti.fjortoft@uit.no
Equality of opportunity; Gender equality; Democratic citizenship

 

Andreas Føllesdal

Professor

andreas.follesdal@jus.uio.no

Minority Rights, distributive justice, democratic theory

 

Jennifer Clare Heyward

Professor

jennifer.c.heyward@uit.no

Climate change as a cultural injustice; Technological responses to climate change

 

Thea Isaksen

PhD student

thea.isaksen@uit.no

Deliberative democracy; Populism; Social media; Feminist philosophy

 

Jonas Jakobsen

Associate professor

jonas.jakobsen@uit.no

Democratic theory; Free speech; Secularism and religion

 

Kasper Lippert-Rasmussen

Professor

kasper.l.rasmussen@uit.no

equality and discrimination

 

Michael Morreau

Professor

michael.morreau@uit.no

Social choice theory; Epistemic democracy; Social epistemology; Multi-criterial decision-making

 

Kaja Jenssen Rathe

 

PhD Student

kaja.j.rathe@uit.no

Political philosophy, phenomenology, migration, rightlessness, feminist philosophy, existentialism

 

Kerstin Reibold

reibold@uni-potsdam.de

Indigenous rights; Territorial Rights; Historic Injustice

 

Vegard Stensen

PhD Student

vegard.stensen@uit.no

Recognition theory; Self-respect; Rawls 

 

 

Øyvind Stokke

Associate professor

oyvind.stokke@uit.no

Deliberative democracy; Climate justice and institutions

 
Attila Tanyi

Professor

attila.tanyi@uit.no

Freedom; Global justice and institutionalism; Consequentialism

 
 
Previous PhD students:

Melina Duarte: State Membership: A Question of Individual Choice   (Fall 2016)

Jonas Jakobsen: "The Claims of Freedom: Habermas´ Deliberative Multiculturalism and the Right to Free Speech"  (Spring 2017)

Tomasz Jarymowicz: Democratic Deliberation in the Context of Deep Pluralism and Mass Democracy: A Case for an Epistemic Idea of Public Reason  (Spring 2017)

Kerstin Reibold: Can concern for equal social bases of self-respect justify indigenous rights?  (Fall 2020)

Magnus Egan: Who merits admittance? The fairness of skills-based migration criteria  (will be disputed 20.10.21)

 
 
Institutional partners: 

Civic Constellation III: Democracy, Constitutionalism, and Anti-Liberalism. Hosted by University of Malaga (2019-2022)

Indigenous Citizenship and Education (ICE). Hosted by the Center for Sami Studies (SESAM), UiT (2017-2021)

Globalizing Minority Rights. Hosted by Pluralism, Democracy and Justice Research Group, UiT (NFR Project 2016-2020)

Centre for the Experimental-Philosophical Study of Discrimination - CEPDISC. Hosted by Aarhus University (2020-2026).